← All guides

vivo X500, X500 Pro & X500 Pro Max: Release Date, Specs, Price & Which One to Buy

Quick answer

vivo has confirmed the X500 series launches on 21 September 2026 with three models: the X500, X500 Pro and — for the first time in X-series history — the X500 Pro Max. vivo has skipped the X400 generation entirely. The stated goal for this generation is to be “the first choice for photography, and the only choice for video”, and the confirmed imaging credentials back that up: the Pro models debut a Zeiss ultra-dynamic main camera on the new Blueprint Guangyu 900 sensor with up to 17EV dynamic range, the first CIPA 7.0 stabilisation on both main and periscope cameras, and the first 4K 240fps slow motion on a phone. The Pro Max is the world's first device with the 2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro. Pricing has not been announced. You can reserve any of the three with us now and we'll ship worldwide as soon as stock is released.

Reserve the X500 →  |  Reserve the X500 Pro →  |  Reserve the X500 Pro Max →

Three models, and how they differ

vivo has not published a full comparison, but between official teasers and reports the shape of the range is clear. Everything in this table is marked by how solid it is.

X500X500 ProX500 Pro Max
PositionCompact, accessibleCompact camera flagshipLarge-screen flagship
Main camera1/1.28-inch LYTIA-828 (official)Zeiss ultra-dynamic, Blueprint Guangyu 900, 17EV (official)Zeiss ultra-dynamic, Blueprint Guangyu 900, 17EV (official)
TelephotoLYTIA-610 (official)85mm Zeiss 64MP APO (official)200MP periscope (reported)
Ultra-wide50MP (official)Not detailed50MP (reported)
CIPA 7.0 stabilisationNot statedYes (official)Yes (official)
4K 240fps slow motionNot statedYes (official)Yes (official)
ChipsetDimensity 9600 (reported)Dimensity 9600 Pro (reported)2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro (official)
DisplayCompact flat screen (reported)6.37-inch 1.5K, 144Hz (reported)6.83–6.85-inch 2K LTPO, 144Hz (reported)
Battery~7500mAh (reported)Not reported7000mAh or higher (reported)

Which one should you buy?

Based on what has been confirmed:

The X500 Pro Max if you want the biggest screen, the newest silicon and the fullest camera system. It is the only model vivo has confirmed for the 2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro, and it is the one shown with the optional teleconverter lens and photography grip kit.

The X500 Pro if you want flagship camera hardware in a smaller body. The confirmed 85mm Zeiss 64MP APO telephoto is the standout — 85mm is the classic portrait focal length, and APO is Zeiss's designation for apochromatic correction, which controls the colour fringing long lenses usually produce. It shares the Blueprint Guangyu 900 main sensor, CIPA 7.0 and 4K 240fps with the Pro Max, reportedly in a 6.37-inch body.

The X500 if you want the range's core strengths without the flagship price. A 1/1.28-inch LYTIA-828 main sensor is genuinely large for a standard-tier phone, and it is paired with a LYTIA-610 telephoto and a 50MP ultra-wide — a three-camera setup where many rivals at this tier fit a token macro lens.

What vivo has actually confirmed

  • Launch: 21 September 2026, 19:00 China time, alongside new smart terminal products
  • Line-up: X500, X500 Pro and X500 Pro Max — the first X-series Pro Max, with the X400 generation skipped entirely
  • Five upgrade areas: video, photography, performance, display and the operating system
  • Pro series main camera: Zeiss ultra-dynamic camera co-developed by vivo's Blueprint division and Sony, on the new Blueprint Guangyu 900 sensor, with up to 17EV dynamic range
  • Stabilisation: world-first CIPA 7.0 rating on both the main and periscope telephoto cameras
  • Video: first phone to record 4K at 240fps for slow motion
  • X500 Pro telephoto: 85mm Zeiss 64MP APO super telephoto
  • X500 Pro Max chipset: world's first with the 2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro, plus Atomic Workbench multitasking
  • X500 cameras: 1/1.28-inch LYTIA-828 main, LYTIA-610 telephoto, 50MP ultra-wide
  • Accessories: optional teleconverter lens and professional photography grip kit shown for the Pro Max

Why 17EV and CIPA 7.0 actually matter

These two numbers are the substance behind vivo's video claim, and both are worth understanding.

17EV of dynamic range is the gap between the darkest and brightest detail a sensor can hold in a single frame. Professional cinema cameras sit in the 14–17EV region; phones typically sit well below. If the figure holds in practice, it means scenes that normally force a choice — keep the sky or keep the faces — can hold both.

CIPA 7.0 is the industry standard rating for image stabilisation, and 7.0 is a high mark. What makes vivo's claim unusual is applying it to the periscope telephoto as well as the main camera. Long lenses magnify shake as much as they magnify the subject, which is why handheld zoom is usually unusable. Stabilising the telephoto to that standard is the harder engineering problem, and the more useful one.

Together with 4K at 240fps — eight times slow motion at full 4K resolution — that is a coherent argument rather than a spec sheet.

When is the vivo X500 series released?

vivo has confirmed 21 September 2026 at 19:00 China time. Reservations opened in late August on vivo's own site and on JD, and had passed 230,000 by 6 September. Full specifications, configurations and pricing are expected at the event. The China release comes first, with global availability following.

How much will they cost?

vivo has not announced pricing for any of the three. Reports suggest the X500 Pro Max may start around ¥6,999, with the top 1TB configuration reaching roughly ¥8,999 — positioning it directly against the iPhone Pro Max, which is the point of the Pro Max name. Nothing has been said about the X500 or X500 Pro.

We will publish the real figures as soon as vivo confirms them, and current prices for every configuration will be shown on each product page.

Where can I buy the vivo X500 series outside China?

vivo releases in China first, and while some X-series models do reach international markets, it is usually months later and not every model or configuration is included. For most buyers, ordering from an exporter is the faster route — and sometimes the only one.

We have been shipping Chinese flagships direct to customers worldwide since 2008, to the US, UK, Europe, the Gulf, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Australia and 150+ countries, with full tracking via DHL, FedEx or UPS. Every device is 100% brand new and genuine, never refurbished.

vivo phones also ship with Google Mobile Services pre-installed from the factory, so Google's core services are already on the phone. Adding the Google Play Store is quick to do yourself once it arrives, and the system supports English.

Reserve the X500 →  |  Reserve the X500 Pro →  |  Reserve the X500 Pro Max →

FAQ

When is the vivo X500 series released?

vivo has confirmed 21 September 2026 at 19:00 China time, alongside new smart terminal products. Reservations opened in late August and had passed 230,000 registrations by 6 September. Full specifications and pricing are expected at the event, and the China release comes first.

How much will the vivo X500 Pro Max cost?

vivo has not announced pricing. Reports suggest a starting price around Β₯6,999 with the top 1TB configuration reaching roughly Β₯8,999. Nothing has been reported for the X500 or X500 Pro. Current prices will be shown on each product page as soon as they are confirmed.

What is the difference between the X500, X500 Pro and X500 Pro Max?

The Pro Max is the large-screen flagship and the only model vivo has confirmed for the 2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro. The X500 Pro is the compact camera flagship, confirmed with an 85mm Zeiss 64MP APO super telephoto. Both Pro models share the new Zeiss main camera with 17EV dynamic range, CIPA 7.0 stabilisation and 4K 240fps video. The standard X500 has a 1/1.28-inch LYTIA-828 main camera, a LYTIA-610 telephoto and a 50MP ultra-wide.

What chip does the vivo X500 Pro Max use?

vivo has confirmed it is the world's first phone with MediaTek's Dimensity 9600 Pro, built on TSMC's 2nm process. It also supports vivo's Atomic Workbench multitasking feature. The chipsets for the X500 and X500 Pro have not been confirmed.

Does the vivo X500 have Google Play?

vivo phones come with Google Mobile Services pre-installed from the factory, and adding the Google Play Store is quick to do yourself once the phone arrives. The device is unlocked and the system supports English.

Where can I buy the vivo X500 series outside China?

You can reserve any of the three from us and we'll ship worldwide once stock is released β€” to the US, UK, Europe, the Gulf, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Australia and 150+ countries with full tracking. vivo releases in China first, and international availability is usually later and does not always include every model.

Ready to buy? See them in stock with worldwide tracked shipping.